Harlequins Coach House Theatre

  • Entertainment
414 Wayne Street, Rear
Sandusky, Ohio 44870
(419) 626-1175

About Us

In the beginning, Harlequins had no permanent home. Performances were held in churches, a warehouse, an attic and several local schools. Finally, Harlequins arrived at its present home, the read more
  • About

    In the beginning, Harlequins had no permanent home. Performances were held in churches, a warehouse, an attic and several local schools. Finally, Harlequins arrived at its present home, the coach-house of the fine old mansion at 414 Wayne Street.
    The intimate, 97-seat space was first leased as a work area in 1940 with the first production being held there in 1958. Before that first show, however, Harlequins members removed the horse stalls, laid a concrete floor, erected an addition to provide the stage area, and converted the loft into a green room and storage space for costumes and properties.
    Today, Harlequins is the oldest continuously running community theatre in the state of Ohio. We are a non-profit, volunteer organization associated with the Ohio Community Theatre Association (OCTA) and the American Association of Community Theatres (AACT). We produce three to four shows each year between November and May. Most shows are performed 6 times over two weekends.
    Harlequins provides a theatrical experience that demonstrates that an appreciation of the arts is still of vital importance to many individuals in Erie County and the surrounding area. We often recruit young people from local schools for our various shows as a necessary part in a particular play. Their satisfaction in achievement and understanding of commitment and responsibility is immeasurable.
    The next time you see one of our shows, take the time to think about the dedication, talent and sincere desire to please our audiences that is “behind” the scenes.

  • Member Events

    Friday Apr 26, 2019
    Saturday Apr 27, 2019
    Sunday Apr 28, 2019
    Friday May 3, 2019
    Saturday May 4, 2019
    Saturday May 4, 2019
    Sunday May 5, 2019
    Monday May 6, 2019
    Tuesday May 7, 2019
    Wednesday May 8, 2019
    Thursday May 9, 2019
    Friday May 10, 2019
    Saturday May 11, 2019
  • Whom to Contact

    • Kate Volz
      President
      Phone: (419) 239-8021